Figgy Pancakes

“All happiness depends on a leisurely breakfast.”– John Gunther

“Why, sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.”– Lewis Carroll

“I went to a restaurant that serves ‘breakfast at any time.’ So I ordered French Toast during the Renaissance.” Steven Wright

Breakfast, man. Two amazing syllables, one glorious meal. I really can’t say too many good things about breakfast foods in general, mostly because thick-cut bacon, Eggs Florentine, and strawberry waffles have a way of speaking for themselves.

But I did make these pancakes. And they were luscious.

DSC00412

This recipe comes from a particularly awesome source: my friend and fellow journalist/ coobkbook aficionado, Peg McNichol.

More specifically, it comes from a cookbook of her own that Peg is currently working on, tentatively titled,  A Hunk of Butter, and More.

Dude. You had me at butter.

Speaking of, this is what the start to these pancakes looked like:

DSC00408

If there’s a better sound in the morning than butter sizzling, I don’t want to hear it.

And this is what the end result should look like:

BananaFigOatmealPancakes-1

This is what Peg has to say about the pancakes:

I like a fussy Sunday breakfast but I want to eat almost immediately. So, I make a huge batch of oatmeal pancakes (I used Bob’s Red Mill oat flour), and then freeze them in advance. Then, I toast the amount I need. No muss, no fuss on a Sunday morning.

I tweak the Bob’s Red Mill recipe by using a combination of rolled, quick cooking and steel-cut oats — I keep a big jar of this mix and use it for all sorts of recipes. You’ll need to add a little extra hot/warm milk and I let it stand a minute longer than the recipe states.

Then layer on the lusciousness:

FiggyPancakesforBD

whipped cream cheese (I soften about 4 ounces with 2-3 tablespoons of milk so it spreads smoothly)

fig jam: (I confess that since this recipe formally introduced me to the wonder that is fig jam, I have been putting on everything, Frank’s Hot Sauce style. Pancakes, peanut butter sandwiches, bagel and pear sandwiches, um…slabs of bacon.)

sliced bananas

Also from Peg: I top with homemade whipped cream and a sprinkle of cinnamon. I ❤ cinnamon 🙂

DSC00411

A word on the pancakes: Whole Foods’ unexplained failure to stock oat flour among the seriously at least 20 varietals of Bob’s Red Mill products led to me tweaking my own roughly hewn formula for oatmeal pancakes.

½ cup of rolled oats

1-22 eggs

1 to 2 TBS whole wheat flour

¼ cup of plain Greek yogurt or kefir

½ very ripe banana

1 TBS chia seeds

2 TBS buckwheat honey/ brown sugar, raw sugar, whatever sweetness you choose

Then my favorite part: throw everything into a blender and push buttons. This is a basic formula, just keep adding wet or dry ingredients till you get a consistency that seems somewhat pancake batter-y.

Ok, I lied. The part with the sizzling butter is actually my favorite part. Coconut oil also works. Just sizzle, pour, wait for the tiny batter bubbles that stay bubbly, flip, smush, and remove. Layer and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

